Change of channel

Hello. If anyone out there in cyberspace is wondering where I’ve got to and is actually interested in me as a person, rather than just the subjects I write about, then a) you need to get out more, and b) you can follow me on my (therapeutic) road trip across America, if you like.

I’ll be back talking about science in a few weeks.

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

15 Responses to Change of channel

  1. Pius Agius says:

    Hi Steve,

    Years ago I watched this video about this lone scientist splitting infinitives, oops sorry, building this robot in his garage. He was funding himself and had wonderful new ideas about machine intelligence and robots.

    You know after almost a decade I never get tired of that story. I guess I am here for the long haul. We come across in cyberspace as colder than we really are and that is a weakness that should be remedied. Our mutual humanity is the one factor that cushions the slings and arrows the world and others inflict.

    Take care of yourself Steve,

    You know I will be waiting to hear,

    Pius

    • stevegrand says:

      Thanks Pius, you’re a rock. Nobody could ever accuse you of being cold, that’s for sure!

      I’ll get back to robots as soon as I have a workshop again, I promise. I’ve learned a few things about the brain lately that I might be able to make use of.

      I’ll keep an eye open to see how yours is doing, too.

  2. Carlos Acosta says:

    Hi Steve,

    I can only echo Pius by saying that I too am here for the long haul. If your travels take you through the central coast of California, and you need someone to talk to please look me up.

    Your friend,

    Carlos

    • stevegrand says:

      Hello Carlos! Long time no speak. I didn’t know you read my blog.

      Yes, I’m not all that far from you now, relatively speaking. But I have to give the car back to its owner in Louisiana eventually, so I don’t think I dare go as far as California on this trip. Another time.

      Thanks for the encouragement and kindness.

  3. Steve,

    While we don’t know each other I have been a fan of your work for years and think you are one of the most gifted thinkers in the AI space. I hope that you find what you’re looking for on your trip, I would suggest the Grand Canyon as a great place to re-center yourself.

    If your travels bring you back through Oklahoma send me an email, I would love to buy you a cup of coffee or beer, and chat if you’re interested.

    Safe travels,

    Brandon

    • stevegrand says:

      Hi Brandon. Well we know each other now – nice to meet you. Thanks for the kind words – just what I need at the moment!

      I’m probably going to head back via south Texas, but Oklahoma is a possibility, in which case I’ll let you know. The Grand Canyon is coming up in a few days. I imagine it’s a great place to get a sense of proportion.

      Cheers, and thanks,
      – Steve

  4. Stark says:

    Hey Steve, if you’re ever in the Maryland area, give me a heads up! I think we’d have an enjoyable discussion and I owe you a pint or three! 🙂

    • stevegrand says:

      Thanks. Shame I’m not an alcoholic – I could live out on these invitations! Sadly Maryland isn’t on my itinerary this trip. The state has a bearing on the reasons I’m here though, but that’s a long story.

      • Stark says:

        That doesn’t have to be a request for drunkenness, just a proper chat! 🙂

        I hope your trip goes well nevertheless!

        Maryland has been my home for about 19 years now. Finally getting my feet moving on its fertile ground. Would like to hear the story sometime!

        Great pictures so far!

  5. Alon says:

    Hey Steve,
    Just one of your many fans here. Just now began rereading Growing Up with Lucy during my break from school, and your amusing sense of humor brought me to check up on how you are doing.
    First off, let me thank you for mentioning to us MachinesLikeUs.com however long ago that was. It’s possibly the most interesting blog I’m currently subscribed to (second to this one, of course ;).
    Anyway, I, for one, am very happy that you’re out and about exploring nature. Staying closed-up in a lab or at home will eventually take its toll on a human being. There’s nothing better than the beautiful world to get your creative juices flowing.
    And wow, those photos are breathtaking. Thanks for sharing them with us. Just take good care of yourself, ok? We can’t risk losing one of our biggest “brains behind the 21st century.” 🙂

    • stevegrand says:

      Why, thank you! 🙂

      And yes, staying closed up in a lab / at home (they were the same place) already did take their toll. Hope you enjoy the Lucy book – I can barely remember what it was about now… Something to do with robots and the brain, maybe…

      Norm does a great job at Machines Like Us. I’m glad you like it.

      Thanks for the encouragement – it means more than you might think.

  6. Alon says:

    Hey again,
    I just got to Chapter 11 where you mention your attempts at a model glider that learned how to fly on its own. I began wondering if you’ve begun writing or at least began thinking about an autobiography… ?

    Not to imply that I think you’re going to be dying anytime soon – because I wasn’t. I just think it would be an interesting read.

    Anyway, don’t forget to make new posts here once you’ve settled on with your new life, and maybe even give us some of those science-related talks you promised us soon. 😉

    • stevegrand says:

      Hah! 🙂

      I know someone who once wanted to write my biography but I told her I need to achieve something first! So far I feel a bit of a failure.

      But yep, I’ll go back to posting soon, I promise. The new life is on the verge of getting started, I hope…

  7. Pius Agius says:

    Hi Steve

    Glad to hear that all is OK. Will wait to see what your post will be about. I know it will be interesting and fun.

    You know or may be you do not, but the story of how you work all by your lonesome on something like LUCY is a source of encouragement to all around this world who work with little or no help. It inspires all of us to continue to struggle because you have shown its worth it. Gee I guess that does not make you a failure after all!!

    Take Care

    Pius

    • stevegrand says:

      Hey Pius, I should have guessed you’d be lurking out there with an encouraging comment! I do so admire your positive attitude.

      Some income would be nice – starvation isn’t a great indicator of success. But now that I’m on my own I intend to throw myself into work. I have one or two books to write and some new AI software techniques to develop. The robots will have to wait because I’m not going to have a workshop or much money for a while (I’ll have to leave all that to you), but I’ll just go back to the virtual world instead. It’s about time I did some brand new theoretical work and put it into practice.

      Cheers,
      Steve

Leave a Reply

