Solitude

I bet you’re itching to know where I went for this weekend’s hike, aren’t you?

Ok, well, tough, this is my blog so I’m going to tell you anyway. I went to Sedona, of course, and hiked up Soldier Pass and on to Brin’s Mesa. I’m glad I thought to freeze my water before I left because it was 102F and there was little shade, but it was fun and I mostly had the place to myself. The second half of the hike was through soft sand, so I know that the only creatures who have passed that way in the last few days are me, a fox and a rabbit. Sadly I can’t vouch for the safety of the rabbit.

As I reported last weekend, Sedona is easily the reddest, greenest and bluest landscape on the planet, so in honour of that I’ve decided to do this week’s photos in monochrome:

tree500

fire500

rocks500

pavement500

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

4 Responses to Solitude

  1. Norm says:

    In your second photo of the bare trees, they look as if they have been burned by fire. Do you think that was the case?

    I saw a program the other day on TV about American indians who lived in the area you describe over 1,000 years ago. They were hunters and gatherers, but grew some grain as well and stored it in “bins” constructed of mud and stone. Apparently these people hid what they harvested in difficult to reach spots such as cliff sides.

    They lived in cleverly constructed huts. The bottom halves were dug into the ground, while the top halves were made of sticks covered with grass and then mud. There was a hole in the top where a ladder descended inside at an angle. A fire pit was directly beneath the entry whole, and a small tunnel ran off to the side in order to vent cool air into the hut. The effect was that of a giant ant hill.

    Apparently the huts were relatively cool in the summer, and warm in the winter.

    • stevegrand says:

      Yep, they were charred. There were maybe five or six acres burned. Wildfires are very common here. In Louisiana hurricane preparedness was the watchword; here it’s wildfire preparedness. But they carry out lots of managed burns to keep it under control. I think it’s probably a bit different from CA – you seem to get huge fires when it’s unexpectedly dry (Santa Ana winds?) but here it’s always dry so I guess things are a bit more in equilibrium.

      The huts sound fascinating. We think we’re so clever nowadays but most of us wouldn’t survive a week if we had to go back to hunting & gathering!

  2. spleeness says:

    I love your photos! The composition is beautiful and the lack of color & subject matter evokes Ansel Adams. Nice!

Leave a Reply

