Six things about me, of which you neither knew nor cared

This is in response to Spleeness’ excellent post asking people to disclose six quirks about themselves. I’m all for sharing, especially when I’ve got nothing to write about, although I’m not sure how I’ll narrow it down to six.

1. My little toes curl right under my feet and I have to walk on them. I blame winkle-picker shoes in the Sixties. It couldn’t simply be that I’m hideously disfigured. It does make me just that bit taller, though.

2. I’m responsible for the Second World War.

3. I don’t like men. Nothing personal, I just don’t. (Oh, and a big “hi” to Norm, Tony, Bill and all my other friends.)

4. I hate people who can’t see the difference between a statistical generalization and a sweeping one. Saying that women are shorter than men is not the same thing as saying that YOU must be shorter than HIM. Nor does the latter invalidate the former. I’m just saying this because everyone is stupid like that. Nobody gets this right. Not ever.

5. When my motor cortex is distracted, my hands tend to pull out body hairs – from my nose, my arm, my eyebrows, anywhere. Don’t let me sit on your new suede sofa.

6. I adore artificial crab meat. I know it’s made from pulverized trainers but I like it. It almost tastes a bit like crab, sometimes.

6a. I hate lists that end before I’m ready.

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

10 Responses to Six things about me, of which you neither knew nor cared

  1. Norm says:

    In what way are you responsible for the Second World War?

  2. Norm says:

    My six quirks:

    I hate any activity that must be done in order to make money.

    My hair is thinning, but I really don’t give a damn.

    Relationships warm me more than blankets.

    Looking at a beautiful tree is one of the most meaningful things I can imagine doing.

    In my mind I live in a limestone farmhouse in the south of France, tend my cabernet vineyards, walk my old dog along dusty cyprus-lined roads, play Pétanque with friends even when the cold mistral is blowing, and paint still-lifes of dented copper vases and bowls of yellow lemons.

    I would probably like you, once I got to know you.

  3. spleeness says:

    I pluck out hairs too. Sometimes plucking out my eyebrow hairs helps me concentrate better while writing! lol

  4. Richard says:

    OK, I’ll play.

    1 – My gender doesn’t match my physical sex as in I feel more comfortable expressing myself as a woman even though my physical self is male.

    2 – As I’ve grown older, I have less and less patience with those who have extreme issues with #1.

    3 – I’m a very anxious person in the everyday world.

    4 – I find immense peace alone in the wilderness when hiking and doing photography.

    5 – My hair has thinned though I do give a damn. 🙂

    6 – When confronted with a problem to solve, I search relentlessly for a solution and feel an urgency to find it with little patience. Thus I will not “let go” easily. This attitude didn’t pose a problem for example, when looking for the solution to a math problem though it hasn’t worked well when dealing with life’s issues as many of mine didn’t have immediate answers.

  5. Lynne says:

    Responsible for The Second World War eh ?

    …… Now I come to think of it – hair dyed black and swept to the side , a smudge of black boot polish on the middle of the upper lip ! You’re a dead ringer !!!!
    Wait till I tell mum – you will be in for it !!! 🙂

  6. Gerjan says:

    I have the same curly toe condition. Maybe it’s some kind of consolation to know you’re not the only one 🙂
    Being a child of the Eighties, however, I have no idea what winkle-picker shoes are.

    • stevegrand says:

      Heh! Well in that case I guess I can’t blame my shoes! We’re obviously both just hideously deformed…

      • I have something to confess… I too have little toes that curl under my feet. 🙂

        P.S. I really hate being snowed in. I think I’ve read every page on at least 4 blogs because reading my book has gotten way too boring, which is kinda surprising given my love of books.

Leave a Reply

