What a country

A couple of days ago I went out for my morning run and was really upset to see that some jerk had spray-painted graffiti over every available surface in the park I run through. It was such a disappointment because that’s the first real sign of inconsiderate behavior I’ve seen in my three months in Flagstaff.

But today I ran again, and tripped over a couple of the park’s neighbours, out on their hands and knees with scrubbing brushes, quietly cleaning it all off again. I just wanted to say thank you to those people publicly, as well. The United States as a corporation has a lot of cleaning up of its own to do, and deserves the poor reputation it has developed over the past decade. But the American people as individuals never cease to amaze me for their diligence, public spirit and kindness.

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

2 Responses to What a country

  1. nooguhnier says:

    Not all of us Americans are jerks, if that’s what you think, but if you do, I can’t really blame you -_-

    • stevegrand says:

      That’s the very opposite of what I think – I thought I’d made it clear. Americans are the kind of people who’ll get out a scrubbing brush and clean off someone else’s graffiti in a park – I thought that’s lovely!

Leave a Reply

