Lexicon

I’d like to coin a new term: The Hawking Horizon, named after “A Brief History of Time”, which everyone in the observable universe has read but nobody has ever finished. (Wouldn’t it be funny if the last page had explained that it was all a joke?)

The Hawking Horizon is the page number beyond which nobody will ever read, and so we authors are free to spout whatever far-fetched dribble we like without anyone noticing. The HH for my Lucy book is 142 and that for Creation is 195. However, I should point out that Grand’s Theorem states that the HH perceived by readers equals the HH claimed by the author multiplied by 0.67.

For some contemporary science books, this puts the True HH somewhere inside Chapter Two, making them into neutron books, from which information only extends a short distance beyond the original proposal. In rare cases, HH < 1, creating a Singularity.

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

13 Responses to Lexicon

  1. Zola says:

    You might enjoy this list, then:

    http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/497.The_Most_Begun_Read_but_Unfinished_Initiated_book_ever

    Say, does this mean I’m weird for having read both of your books from beginning to end? 😀

    • stevegrand says:

      Yes, VERY weird!

      Great list. I’ve actually finished a few of those myself, so I must be weird too. And Hawking didn’t even make it onto it.

      Hitchhiker’s Guide??? Who couldn’t get to the end of that?

  2. Csgrand says:

    So is their a white hole horizon as well, books that repel you from reading them?

    Susan greenfield might qualify here, i.e. how far through a book you can get before throwing it across the room?

  3. Josh Cowan says:

    I once heard that at least a couple of bookstores put a little note on page 100 in “A Brief History of Time” asking the reader to call the bookstore if they got to this page. No one called. I wish my copy had one of those notes, I would have called.

  4. Wilson Fowlie says:

    I also read Creation all the way through. Enjoyed it immensely – it made me feel better about having had all those doubts during my AI courses.

    • stevegrand says:

      🙂 Thanks for persevering! And I’m glad to have confirmed your doubts!

      • Wilson Fowlie says:

        I recently read a book called The First Idea by Stanley I. Greenspan and Stuart Shanker.

        (Holy cow, now there’s a book with a short Hawking Horizon!)

        However, I did manage to slog my way through it, because the ideas were so interesting (though the prose was in dire, dire need of a readability editor!).

        Anyway, a lot of their research and conclusions support and enhance the ideas you wrote about in Creation, with regard to the development and evolution of intelligence. (At least, I think they do – I read your book a while ago.)

        I’d be interested in knowing if you’ve heard of their research/ideas, and how they mesh with your own.

      • stevegrand says:

        Nope, haven’t heard of them. I looked at a few pages on Amazon and coincidentally it seems like it might be similar to a paper a friend of mine wrote and sent me today! I’ll read his paper first, though.

  5. bill topp says:

    i’ve never even seen a copy. sorry. i’ve never read susan greenfield either, other than three or four of her academic papers. i did spend a little time with her and i found her quite bright. she’d found a peptide in spinal fluid and she was convinced she could use it to track back into some serious brain pathology and i suspected she was right, but i think it stalled.

    • stevegrand says:

      🙂 I’m sure there must be some witty name for someone who hasn’t even STARTED “Brief History”! Susan said some positive things about my work in one of her books, so that’s ok with me. She did beat me up on the radio once, though.

Leave a Reply

