Thor

Just a couple of storm pics that I thought were worth sharing. We don’t get enough big storms at night round here, so it was nice to be able to open the shutter wide last night, and take still photos instead of grabbing frames from video taken in daylight. Also below is a time-lapse cloudscape that I took from the same balcony yesterday. Isn’t the sky amazing?

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

8 Responses to Thor

  1. Terren says:

    It’s crazy that such dynamic motion is so completely invisible to us simply because it’s too slow. It’s a great reason to remain humble about all the things we have not yet observed, particularly about patterns much larger than we are.

    • stevegrand says:

      Very true. Richard Dawkins talks about Middle World (I think that’s what he calls it) and how we’ve evolved to understand things around our scale but not much either side. I was boggled by that Hubble deep field video I posted on FB the other day – 1,000,000,000,000,000 stars in a patch of ’empty’ sky the size of a grain of sand held at arm’s length! I can’t conceive of anything the size of our sun. I can barely conceive of a million of anything at all, but a thousand trillion things the size of our sun in every sand grain of sky??? I just can’t do it.

      My dad once wanted to show his class of elementary school kids what a million looks like, so he put a piece of squared paper on the wall, one meter on each side, divided into 1mm squares. It really helps. But if he tried to do the same thing for the above number, it would be a sheet of paper nearly 20 miles on each side!

  2. Richard says:

    Hey Steve,

    A thousand trillion stars in a sand grain of sky… I wonder if we will ever figure out the reason for all of it.

    In everyday life I usually understand why I choose to do what I do… my photography, taking a trip into town, reading a book, etc.. Yet I have no clue as to why I’m here or what it is that is actually asking the question. Makes me uneasy at times and is probably what drives most to religion for quick answers. I guess I learned to be comfortable with being uncomfortable to a certain degree.

    Richard

    • stevegrand says:

      “Being comfortable with being uncomfortable” is a great phrase! The rallying cry of scientists!

      I think maybe we make our own purpose.

      • Richard says:

        I think Fiona Apple expressed it best in her song “Extraordinary Machine”:

        I certainly haven’t been shopping for any new shoes
        -And-
        I certainly haven’t been spreading myself around
        I still only travel by foot and by foot, it’s a slow climb,
        But I’m good at being uncomfortable, so
        I can’t stop changing all the time

        I notice that my opponent is always on the go
        -And-
        Won’t go slow, so’s not to focus, and I notice
        He’ll hitch a ride with any guide, as long as
        They go fast from whence he came
        – But he’s no good at being uncomfortable, so
        He can’t stop staying exactly the same

        If there was a better way to go then it would find me
        I can’t help it, the road just rolls out behind me
        Be kind to me, or treat me mean
        I’ll make the most of it, I’m an extraordinary machine

      • stevegrand says:

        ๐Ÿ™‚ Extraordinary machines indeed!

  3. Bindy says:

    Yep, you really would love New Zealand. Word is the aurora australais is to be spectacular this year.

    Best seen at a place called Lake Tekapo where there are so few man made lights that a bid has been made to create the world’s first sky reserve so as to protect the night sky.

    See:

    Near there is an astrophysics lab which is linked to the University of Canterbury… and quite a few ski fields!

    http://www.phys.canterbury.ac.nz/research/mt_john/index.shtml

    • stevegrand says:

      Hah! Do you work part-time for the NZ Tourist Board or something Bindy??? It sounds wonderful, though. I was in Alaska recently but it was exactly the wrong end of the year to see the aurora. I saw it from England once but too faint to really appreciate. So I guess I just need to find a way to get to NZ! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

