So how’s it going?

Just a short post to say that I’m going to tweet my programming journal in real-time, as I work on my new game, so if any of you are fellow Twits, feel free to follow @enchantedloom. I don’t really understand Twitter yet, and 140 characters is just not ‘me’ somehow, but it seems like a good way to keep my nose to the grindstone (or avoid any actual work, possibly) and at the same time let you guys know how things are going. I’d appreciate the company, so see you in Twit-land maybe!

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

20 Responses to So how’s it going?

  1. What is this new game, can’t find any information about it! Enchanted Loom? Grandroids?

    • stevegrand says:

      That’s because there isn’t any information yet 🙂 I’m writing a new A-life sim in much the same vein as creatures except with the benefit of 20 years’ technology improvement and intensive research. I like to let my projects evolve (metaphorically as well as literally!), so I don’t know what these creatures are going to want yet. I don’t even have a name for it. Enchanted loom is a metaphor for the brain, so it seemed like a reasonable twit username, and grandroids was the a name dreamed up by my friend Andrew Lovelock, which I was going to use for a robot project that didn’t work out – it seemed too good to waste so it’s now my codename for this project. Just about the only thing I have yet, apart from some preliminary code, is a new theory – a new artificial brain design. And that’s so complex and tentative I haven’t written about it yet. So basically you haven’t really missed anything! Watch this space 🙂

  2. Trevor says:

    Bon chance, Steve!

    I will follow your adventures with interest 🙂

  3. talkingtostones says:

    What has been wrought from getting a phone?! Even the small things matter, indeed.

  4. ljbruce3 says:

    I’m really excited about this new game. I still play the creatures games, I even went so far as to set up a virtual hard drive with windows 98 so I could play the games without crashing. 🙂

    My only problem is that now I may actually have to get a twitter account. Oh well it would be worth it. Good luck on the new project, can’t wait to see how it turns out.

  5. CyberGaby says:

    Steve, what kind of game are you creating?
    I remember a work by an Argentine artist who was based in the Game of Life by John Conway. Won third prize in the Art & Artificial Life a couple of years. You know that contest? You might want, has great prizes!
    http://www.fundacion.telefonica.com/arteytecnologia/certamen_vida/en/vida10/propagaciones.htm

    • stevegrand says:

      That’s very nice. Thanks for the link! Unlike Life, their system seems to be asynchronous – it would be fun to watch it in action.

      A prize would be nice, preferably right now, while I actually need the money! 🙂

      My own game is way up the other end of the scale – my specialty is creating complete intelligent life-forms made from thousands of artificial neurons, enzymes, chemoreceptors, genes, etc. This time round I’m particularly interested in the nature of imagination and mental imagery, and its relation to cognition. Which is a fancy way of saying I’m building some artificial animals in a 3D virtual world that I hope people will enjoy interacting with. More news on this as things develop. Thanks for asking!

      • CyberGaby says:

        It’s really interesting. A pity you do not live in Latin America or Spain or Portugal, because there if there is a way of participation while the project is still unrealized. I do not know what your way of working, but you could team up with someone from one of these countries, just to live or be born there. But … maybe for the next edition. Good luck with your work! I will follow you for the tweet!

  6. Darchen Jurusli says:

    I truly love the creatures series, and this new piece of information fills me with excitement and delight!

  7. Gilad says:

    Just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy your blog.
    I found about it in John Johnston “The allure of machinic life” (very recommended read in case you didn’t read it yet…)

    I used to love playing with Creatures, and it was part of what started my interest in simulations of life and cognition.

    I am going to read everything in your blog : )

Leave a Reply

