Down is optional; up is mandatory

Check out pics of my backpacking trip into the Grand Canyon last weekend.

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

6 Responses to Down is optional; up is mandatory

  1. lynne Grand says:

    Some amazing photos – and soooooo many ! You must of been hiking with one eye shut half the time 🙂 Looks like you had a fab time ! xxx

  2. Brian Hershey says:

    I’ve always thought that some day YOU would be the one to create a learning model that will change the course of AI research… that YOU would be the spark that puts the “ahh hah” moment into researchers the world over… that YOU would start a rapid and dramatic shift in what computers will do for us in the future.

    So, I just want to scream and throw a tantrum every time I read your posts about your leisurely interests. The Grand Canyon?? Rachel Maddow talking about Egypt?? Pictures of lightning?? AHHHHHH!!!

    I’m going to strap you down now with headphones blaring, “You only get one shot, do not miss your chance… This opportunity comes once in a lifetime”.

    Do YOU have a sense that you’re on the verge, the brink, of something BIG? If so, GET AT IT MAN!!!!!!

    With all respects,
    Brian

    • stevegrand says:

      Hahahahaha! Thank you Brian. I’ll consider myself admonished! And encouraged! 🙂 Mind you, even evil geniuses need a day off now and again…

      The good new is that yes, I do think I’m on the verge of something big. I’m just not really talking about it cos it’s kind of complicated and the proof of the pudding is in the coding. I’m working on it, though! Promise! First I have to raise some cash to stay alive, because I’m almost out of resources. I’ll be putting a project on kickstarter in a few days and will post about it here in the hope that a few people might have a bit of spare change or at least can help me spread the word. If I can raise enough to keep the wolf from the door I’m quite excited about the prospects. I don’t have all the answers yet by any means but I do think I have a pretty interesting framework. It’s only taken me 15 years…

    • Chani says:

      wasn’t a large part of Creatures figured out up in the hills? 😉 nature does wonders for creativity…

  3. frederic says:

    Wow! Nice pictures! The colors are astonishing for these difficult lighting conditions…
    And you seem to know a lot about geology – did you take the darwinian-geology-detour to understand evolution?

    • stevegrand says:

      Thanks frederic! Hah, I haven’t actually studied geology since I was 17 and 18, but I was very lucky when I did. I tried to take physics but the math killed me, so one of my teachers offered to teach me geology. I was in a class of one, and then only for a chat at lunchtimes, so basically I taught myself. My teacher had me draw up a complete stratigraphical column of every major rock in England, on a long sheet of wallpaper. And I could just wander off with a hammer whenever I wanted to and see it with my own eyes. Happy days!

Leave a Reply

