Annular Eclipse, Grand Canyon

The track of yesterday’s annular eclipse crossed just north of here, and for the first time in my life I was in a place with guaranteed clear skies, so I went to the Grand Canyon to look at it.

Of course, so did a few other people…

Some with fancier equipment than others

The sun’s only 93,000,000 miles away. How big a lens do you need?

First contact. (BTW, my lens isn’t dirty – the smudges are sunspots)

Our ‘Scope of the Month’ Centerfold

But my little camera and a piece of welder’s glass did me proud

Not everyone needed a telescope

Without a filter it was pretty hopeless

So trying to get the scenery in just made it look like a normal day

But it was still partial at sunset, so finally I managed to get a shot of sun and canyon together

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

7 Responses to Annular Eclipse, Grand Canyon

  1. Gary Smith says:

    Fantastic shots Steve

    Just proves what can be done without expensive technology and some imagination šŸ˜‰

    Glad you enjoyed it, not one back here in the UK until LONG after im dead lol

  2. MrRatermat says:

    Wow, I like the last shot. Thats gonna be my new desktop background.

    Only such special man deserves to witness such a amasing sight!

    Thank you for the pictures and the updates.

  3. Mellowcow says:

    http://imgur.com/vvd7u
    Wait, that’s not a cookie!

  4. Mank Astin says:

    Cheers Steve šŸ™‚ It was the second result on my last search. From now on you will know me as Mank Astin šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

