Eclipse hat-trick!

Our solar system is SO busy at the moment! Three ‘eclipses’ in just a few days, starting with the annular eclipse of the Sun, then a partial eclipse of the Moon, and right this minute the transit of Venus. This is for my soggy, cloud-covered British chums!

About stevegrand
I'm an independent AI and artificial life researcher, interested in oodles and oodles of things but especially the brain. And chocolate. I like chocolate too.

13 Responses to Eclipse hat-trick!

  1. MrRatermat says:

    Then stop complaining and fly back to England where a very large fan of your work is waiting!

    There are no eclipses here!

  2. Andrew Lovelock says:

    Woke up in post jubilee fog 5:30 am and found your post (thanks for putting it there, brilliant pics). Thought “Oh sh*t, its transit time, now!?”. 10 minutes later, after rifling through old photo packets to find a dark negative, I ran out to the Great British summer dawn. The heavens smiled and granted me a brief inter-cloud window to take some shots (4000th @ 40f, 250 lens) with the negative held/wobbled in front of the lens, and some more after I woke up enough to turn the autofocus off… deep joy, I managed to capture some crummy shots of our sister making a slight dent on the circumference at about 40 degrees, before the clouds swallowed it all again…. Sic transit gloria Veni…

    • stevegrand says:

      Glad you saw it! It still feels weird to me that I was watching it as the Sun was setting, and there were you at the same time watching it rise. Next they’ll tell me the Earth isn’t flat…

  3. Gary Smith says:

    I got about 10 mins of cloud cover, followed by 3 mins of turning my head in every direction and seeing more cloud cover. Went back to bed a very unhappy bunny …..

    Guess you will have to keep working hard Steve if im to last until 2127 to see the next one 😉

    • stevegrand says:

      It’s ok, it’s in 2117. That ten years will make all the difference! 🙂

      • Gary Smith says:

        Indeed, Curse my quick typing and not looking what I just typed 😉

        I think I’ll still be a good 20 years past my “Best Before End” date though Steve …..

  4. Ibad says:

    Hi! you won’t remember me, since we first communicated over 10 years ago by email. But..I played Creatures. lol. So… DUDE… what’s up with Grandroids??? I have not heard much on that front forever… and I am very thirsty for something! Please!

  5. Sheen says:

    Hey Steve Grand, Creatures is getting another episode! The makers are called Fishingcactus and I’m sure they’ll be glad to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

